PTVS overview

Sep 18, 2013 at 3:01 PM
Edited Sep 18, 2013 at 3:02 PM
Hi all,

I am new to PTVS and I am wondering for comercial use:
  • Can I install the newest version of PTVS on Visual Studio 2012 Express(private use) ? What versions of VS supports PTVS (commercial use) ?
  • is PTVS is suppose to be completly free product ? so if one pay for VS it could get it for free ? if not how much is roughly going to cost ?
  • Can one expect with PTVS to have also Subversion Control ?
Best regards,
Sep 18, 2013 at 3:06 PM
Edited Sep 18, 2013 at 3:12 PM
  • no. VS Express editions dont allow plug-ins. however, you can install the "Integrated" version which gives you the same thing. see the Installation page. i dont believe there's any restriction on commercial use.
  • yes. if you have VS, you can install PTVS into it for free. if you dont have VS, install the Integrated pkg and it comes with VS (both free).
  • various 3rd party source control add-ins can be installed in VS: git, Hg, ...
Sep 18, 2013 at 3:39 PM
Edited Sep 18, 2013 at 3:39 PM
Thanks a lot,
I have additional quations:
  • if i get it right "Visual Studio Shell (Integrated) 2012" have the same Debugger features as commercial "Visual Studio Professional 2012" ?
  • does the latest PTVS run on "Visual Studio Shell (Integrated) 2012" ? or it has to be VS 2013 RC ?
  • if one install Integrated pkg it get VS + PTVS for free, right ? and in this combination it could be used for commercial purposes, so how Microsoft earn from those two very good projects ?
best regards,
Sep 18, 2013 at 3:54 PM
  • correct, full debugger. you dont get the profiler, which requires the full VS.
  • PTVS Integrated (2.0 RC) is available for 2013.
  • right. same way VS Express editions are free. the industry trend is to give tools (at least base tools) away for free & benefit from downstream effects (services, etc. like azure signups, upgrade to higher level sku's, ...)
Sep 18, 2013 at 5:36 PM
Edited Sep 18, 2013 at 5:38 PM