How can i release desktop app by using PVTS & PyQt?

Jun 27, 2013 at 4:40 AM
Edited Jun 27, 2013 at 4:45 AM
Hi Guys,

First of all, thank you guys for your great works. PTVS is a amazing python IDE!

I was able to run my PyQt4 desktop app based on PTVS & VS2012 perfectly well.
After i registered as a Windows Store developer, i am wondering that is it possible to submit my desktop app to Windows store by using PTVS & VS2012?

If it is possible, then could someone tell me how to package my desktop app by using PTVS & VS2012? And how to upload the packed app to Windows store?

From what i read so far, submiting app to Windows Store should be proceed in VisualStudio.
But I searched a lot on Microsoft website, i saw there is no information related to package python desktop app(specificly for PyQt4 of my app) and submitting stuff.

Has someone done that before? Any comments would be warmly appreciated.
Jun 27, 2013 at 4:42 AM
Sorry for the typo: PVTS --> PTVS.
Jun 27, 2013 at 3:36 PM
You'll get a much better response from the Windows Store forum - desktop apps are a special case that don't require VS support (but I believe you do need your own website that they can link to).

Windows Store Apps (that will run on an ARM PC) are not supported for Python right now, and probably won't ever support PyQt. You're basically stuck in the desktop/Windows 7 world for now, sorry.
Jun 28, 2013 at 5:10 PM
Thank you for your anwser, Zooba.

Yes, i currently developed this app for desktop only, NOT for ARM-based devices.

So basically, it just a normal PC desktop app, but wrote in Python+PyQt4.
What i want is just to distribute my desktop app to Windows Store, to let the PC guys find, download and use.

As i know, after Windows 8 released, Windows Store will be the prefered way to distribute apps, even for desktop apps, right?
After all, there are still many people use PC not just mobile devices.