Syntax highlighting and other questions about PTVS

May 3, 2012 at 1:54 AM
Edited May 3, 2012 at 1:56 AM

Hello.

I'm a beginning programmer working from John Zelle's Python Programming textbook. I've used PyScripter for several months, but its constant crashing has made me switch to Visual Studio 2010 Professional with Python Tools.

I noticed that many functions like print, int, etc. do not have the proper syntax highlighting. I watched videos of PTVS where such functions are highlighted in blue (using the default theme), but my functions are highlighted in black. Python Tools seems to be installed properly, and is listed under Tools->Options as "Python Tools." I am using the 64-bit Python 3.2 interpreter in the 32-bit version of Visual Studio 2010 Professional (I think only 32-bit versions are available, though). Import, def, for, etc., are highlighted in blue. Also, unlike in PyScripter, numbers retain their black color. I know that it is possible to change the color of numbers, for example, but not of specific functions, and I think that these problems with syntax highlighting may be symptomatic of larger issues with my install.

When I run a program to test it within the IDE (F5 or Ctrl+F5), a command window pops up, and another window pops up, and then quickly close. It's different from the clean output that I would get in PyScripter. Is there any way to simply have the output appear in the bottom window without these windows always popping up? Also, after the output appears ("Hello World", for example), it is followed by "The thread 'MainThread' (0xcd0) has exited with code 0 (0x0)." (These numbers change depending on the program, however.) Is this normal?