I'm getting a "Visual Studio must be installed" msg but it is installed.

Jul 28, 2011 at 7:13 PM
Edited Jul 28, 2011 at 7:27 PM

I've been setting up a coupld of systems for Visual Studio 2010 development.  I'm using the trial version of VS 2010 professional.  I was able to install the latest Python tools but I noticed that the IronPython part didn't install on one of the machines.  When I try to re-run it I get this;

"Visual Studio must be installed. The free integrated shell can be downloaded at http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/deatails.aspx?FamilyID=8e5aa7b6-8436-43f0-b778-00c3bca733d3"

I've gotten this message a number of times on both machines.  Does anyone know what the install program is looking for to verify that VS 2010 is there?

I read the instructions and saw that you need IronPython installed so I downloaded and installed that.  I'm still getting the above message. I can't even do a repair.  Any clues would be appreciated.

Jul 31, 2011 at 9:48 AM

Are you sure that you have all prerequisites?

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/7tx0bw8y.aspx

Jul 31, 2011 at 10:02 PM
I'm pretty sure I have all the prerequisites. I have Visual Studio Professional installed in its entirety. Getting the latest programs for the Visual Studio for Python and Ironpython installed is confusing.

I've got two programs to install; PythonToolInstaller.msi and IronPython-2.7.1-Beta1.msi. The IronPython install didn't install the PythonTools by default. At one point I got a message from the Ironpython installer that its version was older and that I should install the newer version from the python tools website. That's what I've been trying to do.

Since I couldn't install the latest tools from the web site, I installed them from the IronPython installer. That worked. I then tried to re-install the visual tools hoping that it would upgrade the version that I already had installed. It didn't. I still get the message that Visual Studio 2010 must be installed.