Complete Python Noob with a Complete Noob Question---Expect Eloquent Noobosity

Jul 15, 2011 at 4:55 AM
Edited Jul 15, 2011 at 8:06 AM

I am a complete python noob.  I picked up the language as I was browsing a peculiar site for something called MIT OpenCourseWare, which provided a link to a free textbook on Python 2.4.1 using the TKinter shell.  I've been researching the bejeezus out of this program online as I go through the chapters, and I have discovered that, at the expense of a little speed, Python is an absolute beginning computer-programmer's dream, with huge wide-open vista's for expandability.  I'm about halfway through the book, and I began to wonder if there was a particular package or set of tools that would enable me to quickly and easily create Python applications. 

I was familiar with the Visual Studio Express C# setup, and I knew it had tools.  Which, in subsequent related searches, led me to this site.  So I downloaded the VS Shell, PTVS, and I already had several versions of python installed (including a couple IronPython console applications) and I opened up shell---to discover there were no tools in the ToolBox.  I am grateful knowing that if I knew how to make those tools, it would be a simple matter to upload them into VS Shell and that would be that. . . However there is no corresponding chapter in the book I found for making those buttons and nifty little gizmo's.  I am still looking online for a program that runs in an environment similar to VS and that might have a few pre-fabbed components like it does.  Have found a good few sites that I'm downloading as we speak.  But any advice from those that already know which programs work would be greatly appreciated.

Jul 15, 2011 at 8:05 AM

Hello again,