Confused by module search paths

Jan 20, 2015 at 10:12 AM
Hi
I am quite new to Python and PTVS. I am running PTVS 2.1 on Win 8.1 and am trying to run a small module that uses Kivy. The import statements are:
from kivy.app import App
from kivy.uix.floatlayout import FloatLayout
from kivy.factory import Factory
from kivy.properties import ObjectProperty
from kivy.uix.popup import Popup
When I ran this I got error:
ImportError: No module named 'kivy'
It seems to me that there may be two ways of solving this:

1) Set PYTHONPATH:

PYTHONPATH=C:\Kivy-1.8.0-py3.3-win32\kivy;

However, that didn't work for me.

I had set PYTHONPATH as a user environment variable but when I try to read it:
pythonpath = os.environ['PYTHONPATH']
print("pythonpath=",pythonpath)
it is not defined.

2) Set Properties > Debug > Search Path to:

C:\Kivy-1.8.0-py3.3-win32\Kivy

That did work but I then get a different error:

No module named 'Image'.

at line 10 of img_pil.py, which is:
import Image as PILImage
Please will you advise me which method I should use to specify the search path and why I don't see PYTHONPATH set?

If you have any hints about using PTVS with Kivy that would be a bonus.

Thanks in advance,

David
Coordinator
Jan 20, 2015 at 7:44 PM
The Search Path route is the one that you want to take. The reason why the import fails is because you don't have some of the dependencies that Kivy expects - in this case, PIL. Have a look at the list here:

http://kivy.org/docs/installation/installation.html
Coordinator
Jan 20, 2015 at 9:06 PM
See this page for an explanation of why we block the value of PYTHONPATH and how to use Search Paths through Solution Explorer.

There's also an option under Tools->Python Tools->General to allow global PYTHONPATH settings to be used within PTVS, but because of the potential issues this could cause, we don't recommend it.
Jan 25, 2015 at 8:26 PM
@DavidA2014 - Have you find out, how to resolve this issue. I have exactly the same problem.