Slowness while debugging django views or templates

May 13 at 3:35 PM
Hello all,
I am new to django with PTVS and I am experiencing really painful slowness when hitting breakpoints or doing step-by-step debugging. My project is quite small (few python and template files).
I upgraded to VS 2013 update 2 + PTVS beta 1 and I still got the issue.
I know this is a recurrent issue but I still wonder where this comes from... Any idea to improve the situation is welcome!
Thanks,
Cyril
Coordinator
May 13 at 5:17 PM
Hi Cyril

Are you able to link us to your project (or send it privately to ptvshelp@microsoft.com)? We come across these sorts of issues from time to time and they are usually not caused by the same thing, so it really helps us if we can debug our tools while we're debugging the project and see what is happening internally.
May 14 at 2:54 PM
I stripped everything 'sensitive' from my project to make a clean one ready to share with you. The result is still slow to debug but it is bearable.
The sample project is available for download from here . Just set up a database in settings.py and sqlall to it.

It looks like with the full version of my project, hitting F10 to step through the code takes ~5 seconds (even on no-op lines), and makes the python console pop up back on top of the other windows and then go back to the background before visual studio comes back to life on the next line.

However after a bit more investigation, it looks like the slowness is directly related to the lag between the machine where I am debugging and the MySQL server. When the MySQL server is on localhost, the debugging experience is much better, even when debugging code that has nothing to do with the database. How can this be explained?

Thanks in advance,
Cyril
Coordinator
May 14 at 4:20 PM