Calling Debugger On Same Machine, but not in VS

May 16, 2013 at 5:21 PM
What is the path to the python debug exe and are there any arguments? We have a tool capable of calling the debugger for PyScript and PyDev for Eclipse and wanted to see if it was possible to call into debugger for PTVS.

Thanks
Coordinator
May 16, 2013 at 6:28 PM
We don't have a debug executable for this, we use launcher scripts that we run with python.exe. Right now, all of these are internal implementation details that could change, though when we release 2.0 the ptvsd__main__.py script will be fixed. (This is currently hidden inside our install directory - note that this page hasn't been updated for 2.0 yet.)

However, because we're so tightly coupled to VS, you're unlikely to get access to much functionality. What are you hoping to achieve by doing this? It's possible that there is another approach that may work better.
May 16, 2013 at 6:56 PM
Thanks for reply.

So, I'm kind of new to this and not sure how it completely works. We have a tool ( 3rd party ) that calls PyScripter that allows you to debug a script. It is similar to having a breakpoint set and running within the PyScript IDE. They may be using something similar to what you described above, but not sure. I will check with the 3rd party vendor ).

I was hoping there would be a way for use to pass in the same scripts to PTVS that would allow use to debug it while using their tool. Again, I will check with them. I was just checking on the this post if it was possible with PTVS.

Thanks again
Coordinator
May 16, 2013 at 9:27 PM
It's theoretically possible, but we won't be supporting it (which means 3rd parties can look at our code and try and make it work, but we might break them in future releases).