How to interact with dotNet libraries from python in VSTO (the missing tutorial)

Dec 27, 2012 at 11:55 AM

I'm a knowledge domain expert and know my functional programming in Python and get perfectly by here on day-to-day basis.

I've been asked to interact through Visual Studio 2012 with a .Net optimization engine (because 97% of the project lives on TFS), and luckily python tools for visual studio (PTVS) exists.

The friendly dotNet developers have given me all the libraries for the engine, but how would the syntax from python(x.x) be, in order to exploit the attached libraries?

There must be some simple steps to do this?

For example I know that SQLite3 is written in C, and can be accessed as:

>>> import sqlite3
>>> sqlite3.version
'2.6.0'

I therefore expect something similar when Python scripting in VSTO. Am I missing something?

Coordinator
Dec 27, 2012 at 5:31 PM

Your best bet may be to use IronPython, which is written in .NET. There are details/downloads at http://ironpython.net/, and you'll be interested in the documentation at http://ironpython.net/documentation/dotnet/ (which covers integration with other .NET libraries).

PTVS has full support for IronPython, so once you've installed both you can use our tools, including the Interactive Window and debuggers (we have two debuggers for IronPython, one based on Python and one based on .NET). However, you won't need PTVS installed to run a script - just IronPython.

We can only provide minimal support for IronPython, but there are other options listed at http://ironpython.net/support/

Jan 3, 2013 at 4:13 PM
Hello Zooba,
I have followed the instructions including adding references to the Application's project in MyOwnSubProject in VSTO. It didn't help.

When I do this clr works:
>>> import clr
>>> for r in clr.References: print r
mscorlib, Version=4.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089
System, Version=4.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089