Help setting up remote debugging

Mar 30, 2012 at 8:02 PM

First, I apologize - I'm very new to using Visual Studio in general.  I have been writing Python scripts using Eclipse/pydev but I wish to move to Visual Studio.  I have VS 2010 and have installed PyTools.  It appears to be working now that I got an interpreter working.

I am writing Python scripts for ArcGIS.  What I need to be able to do is debug the Python scripts as they run within ArcCatalog or ArcMap.  

I tried starting ArcCatalog and choosing Debug-> Attach, then choosing ArcCatalog.  VS goes into debug mode at this point and I have breakpoints defined.  When I run the script from ArcCatalog, despite the presence of breakpoints in VS, the script executes to completion without ever hitting my breakpoints.

How do I configure VS and PyTools to allow debugging scripts like this? 

Thanks for your help in advance!

Coordinator
Mar 30, 2012 at 8:37 PM

Are you certain the script is running in that specific process?  Could you do something like:

import os

print os.getpid()

To make sure the process is right?

The other possibility that springs to mind is if we're having trouble resolving the filename on disk to the code object loaded in the process.  You might be able to do something like:

while True:

pass

And then hit the pause button in VS to break in.  Because the process will be constantly executing Python code we should have no problems breaking in.  Then in the call stack window you should see a stack trace.  It'd be good to know whether or not you can double click on the frames and have the files open.  If they don't open for some reason then there's a mismatch that we can dig into more.

May 1 at 12:54 AM