Building a GUI with PTVS

Dec 2, 2011 at 5:58 PM

Hello all,

I have everything up and running. I have two queries:

1) Under VS2011 Tools/options/Python Tools/Interpeter options, everything matches the image on the "Installation details" on this website, except for the "Generate Completion Database" is open to be selected and the "Remove Interpreter" button is greyed out (i.e. the opposite to the image as shown on I am using Python 64bit 2.7. I don't think this will cause me any problem in the future, but thought I would just check.

2) Are there any guides or advice on how to build a GUI. I have some experience using Visual Basic, but I can not seem to access all the tools to build a python GUI.

Dec 2, 2011 at 6:29 PM

Regarding 1) this is a difference between a manually configured interpreter and one which is picked up automatically from the registry.  If you're using a distribution installed normally (for all users) then it gets picked up perfectly fine.  If you happened to do a per-user install of a 64-bit build of Python then it gets picked up as a 32-bit install.  I believe the screen shot was in the later case and so I had manually registered the interpreter so it'd have the correct bitness.  I don't remember why Generate Completion Database is gray'd out in the screenshot though, it may be old enough that it pre-dates our ability to generate the completion DB for manually configured interpreters.

For 2) the best way to go currently is with IronPython and WPF support.  That has a built-in GUI designer that lets you drag and drop controls, it supports intellisense between the Python code and the XAML UI description, and you can double click on controls and automatically generate event handlers.  If you want to stick w/ CPython then you have a lot of frameworks to choose from but we don't have GUI designers for them: wxPython, PyQT, lib-tk, PyGame, PyWin32, and there's probably some I'm missing.

Dec 5, 2011 at 4:05 PM
Edited Dec 5, 2011 at 4:35 PM